Find UM Cuba Experts
By University Communications

Find UM Cuba Experts
By University Communications
With restrictions being lifted on travel to Cuba, UM faculty experts can offer insight.

David Abraham 
Professor, School of Law
Can talk about Cuban Adjustment Act and Cuban migration to the United States. 
Cell: (609) 203-3892
Office: (305) 284-5535 

Jose Azel
ICCAS Senior Research Associate
Can speak about Cuban economy and its impact on society. Expert on International Business
Cell: (954) 336-5987
Office: (305) 284-2822
jazel@miami.edu

Bruce Bagley 
Professor, Dept. of International Studies
Can speak about Latin America, Central America and Cuba/Latin American relations anddrug trafficking
Office: 305-284-6867
Cell:305-815-1206 
bbagley@miami.edu

Joan Martínez Evora, JD
Lecturer in Business Law
School of Business Administration
Can speak about Legal Environment of business, Cuban civil law and civil procedure
Voice: 305-284-1585
E-mail: j.martinezevora@umiami.edu

Christina Frohock
School oi Law lecturer
Can speak about Guantanamo Base, detainees
Phone: 305-284-2329
cfrohock@law.miami.edu

Andy Gomez (Retired) 
Former Assistant Provost and Senior Fellow, Institute for Cuban and Cuban American Studies
Contemporary Cuba, transition issues, psychological impact of Cubans during transition
Cell:  (305) 582-2266
agomez@miami.edu | Web site | Web site

Michelle G. Gonzalez Maldonado
Assistant Professor, Department of Religious Studies, College of Arts & Sciences
Cuban-American and Cuban religion, Afro-Cuban culture and religion, and more broadly Latino/a, Black, Latin American religion, and feminism.
Office: (305) 284-9782
Cell: (305) 546-4535
mmaldonado@miami.edu

Rafael Lima
Assistant Professor, School of Communication
Can discuss what’s on the minds of Cuban-Americans right now, including those who may be considering a return to Cuba to help with reconstruction. Can also discuss Cuban prisons, the subject of two of his documentaries, El Presidio – The Trip Back, and Plantados.
Cell:  (305) 401-3506
Office:  (305) 284-3908
rlima@miami.edu | Web site

Lillian Manzor
Associate Professor of Spanish and Director, Degree Programs in Latin American Studies
Founding member of ENCASA – Emergency Network of Cuban American Scholars and Artists for Change in US-Cuba Policy . She can talk about Cubans on the island since she travels to Cuba frequently, on Cuban culture, U.S.-Cuba relations, civil society in Cuba, travel restrictions and human rights.
Office: (305) 284-7314
lmanzor@miami.edu

Pedro Roig
ICCAS Senior Research Associate
Can talk about Cuba/US relations, economy, Cuban exodus, Cuban society
Office: 305-284-2822
proig@miami.edu

Joaquin Roy
Professor of International Studies and director of the European Union Center. 
He can speak on the European Union, its economy and political alliances as well as the relationship between Cuba and the EU.
Office: 305-284-3266
jroy@miami.edu

Jaime Suchlicki
Director, Institute for Cuban and Cuban-American Studies (ICCAS)
Can talk about politics in Cuba; U.S.-Cuban Relations; transition issues, Cuban Jews
Office: (305) 284-2822
Cell: (786) 301-2822
jsuchlicki@miami.edu