Miami Herbert IT team recognized for COVID response

November 20, 2020

Every year, the Dean’s Advisory Board, chaired by Jose Rodriguez of KPMG, recognizes a department or individual who have contributed to the School’s collective success.

This year, the Dean’s Appreciation Award was presented to the Miami Herbert Information Technology Team for collectively working with faculty and staff to assure the continuity of teaching and connectivity during and after the rapid on-site to on-line University transition.

Despite the challenges of the pandemic, every Miami Herbert department continued to pursue the School’s mission and to thrive, but the last-minute pivot into the virtual space would not have been as seamless, if it weren’t for Zheng Fan, executive director of information technology at Miami Herbert, and his team Erick Ahlbrandt, May Peralta, Eliot Rodriguez, and Stephen Scheel.

“2020 has been a year of many unprecedented challenges that have required all of us, but especially our IT staff, to go above and beyond,” said Quelch. “Our transition to remote learning and working required creative thinking and additional effort as we assessed and implemented new technologies. None of this would have been possible without our Information Technology Team.”

The certificate was presented to the team during the October Dean’s Annual Advisory Committee meeting, which was held virtually.

Back to top