Six Frost Alumni Score Nominations for 2020 Latin Grammy Awards

Six Frost Alumni Score Nominations for 2020 Latin Grammy Awards

By UM News

Six Frost Alumni Score Nominations for 2020 Latin Grammy Awards

By UM News
The Frost School of Music at the University of Miami is pleased to announce six alumni received nominations for the 20th Annual Latin GRAMMY Awards, the preeminent international honor celebrating excellence in Latin music and the only peer-presented Latin music accolade.

Included is the prestigious list are nominations for Album of the Year, “Visceral” by Paula Arenas, which was a collaboration by four alumni; Natalia Ramirez (M.A.’17), Julio Reyes Copello (MM ’00), Carlos Fernando Lopez (BM’12) and Raquel Sofia (BM ’09) who served as producers, engineers songwriters and mixers. 
Julio Reyes Copello and Carlos Fernando Lopez who often work together received multiple nominations, again this year, in the categories of Record of the Year and Producer.  The pair met at FsoM and have collaborated on more than 200 songs by artists like Ricky Martin, Laura Pausini, Jennifer Lopez, Marc Anthony.   Raquel Sofia makes the list again for her third overall  nomination and  George Noriega (B.M. ’96) and Juancho Valencia (B.M. ’05) round off the nominees in their respective categories of Song of the Year and Best Cumbia/Vallenato Album. 
Receiving the education to reach this level of excellence is one of the many reasons students choose to study at the Frost School of Music and are proud to call themselves #Frost Built!
Winners will be revealed by The Latin Recording Academy on Nov. 14 at the 20th Annual Latin GRAMMY Awards’ Premiere and telecast ceremonies. The telecast will broadcast live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on the Univision Network from 8–11 p.m. ET/PT.
A complete list of Frost School of Music alumni nominees is as follows:


Natalia Ramirez (M.A. ’17)

  • Album of the year
    • Visceral – Paula Arenas (producer, engineer, and songwriter) 


Julio Reyes Copello (MM ’00

  • Record of the year
    • Parecen Viernes – Marc Anthony (producer) 
    • Mi Persona Favorita – Alejandro Sanz (producer and engineer) 
    • No Tengo Nada – Alejandro Sanz (producer and engineer) 
  • Album of the year
    • Visceral – Paula Arenas (producer, mixer, engineer, and songwriter) 
    • #ElDisco – Alejandro Sanz (producer and engineer) 
  •  Producer of the Year
    • Back In The City (Alejandro Sanz Con Nicky Jam) 
    • #Eldisco (Alejandro Sanz)
    • Libre (Diana Fuentes) 
    • Mi Persona Favorita (Alejandro Sanz Con CamilaCabello)
    • No Tengo Nada (Alejandro Sanz) 
    • Nostalgia (Daniela Brooker) 
    • Oxígeno (Malú)
    • Visceral (Paula Arenas) 
    • Yo Te Extraño (Sebastián Yatra) 


Carlos Fernando Lopez (BM ’12)

  • Record of the year
    • Mi Persona Favorita – Alejandro Sanz (producer) 
    • No Tengo Nada – Alejandro Sanz (producer) 
  • Album of the year 
    • Visceral – Paula Arenas (producer and engineer) 
    • #ElDisco – Alejandro Sanz (producer and engineer) 
  • Best Engineered Album 
    • Montaner – Ricardo Montaner (engineer) 


Raquel Sofia (B.M. ’09)

  • Album of the year 
    • Visceral – Paula Arenas (songwriter) 


George Noriega (B.M. ’96)

  • Song of the Year
    • Calma – Pedro Capo (songwriter) 


Juancho Valencia (B.M. ’05)(artist)

  • Best Cumbia/Vallenato Album 
    • Yo Me Llamo Cubmia