Andrew Wiemer and Dr. Robin Bachin present student with Newman Civic Fellows and Civic Scholars Recognition

Celebration of Involvement recognizes service and leadership

By Ashley A. Williams

Celebration of Involvement recognizes service and leadership

By Ashley A. Williams
The Division of Student Affairs hosted a reception to present campus-wide awards and scholarships to students and staff who have exemplified excellence.

The Division of Student Affairs Tuesday hosted its annual Celebration of Involvement reception to recognize and present campus-wide awards for service and leadership.  Andrew Wiemer, director of the Butler Center for Service and Leadership, welcomed students, faculty, staff, donors, and community partners to the Shalala Student Center and showed his appreciation for the finalists.

“We are all very proud of all the accomplishments you have made,” said Weimer, whose team of professional and student staff from the Butler Center coordinated the evening’s event. “Whether you were volunteering your time in the community, part of a team planning a program, or leading an organization it has been a great year because of your accomplishments and achievements.” 

Patricia A. Whitely, vice president for student affairs, addressed the audience to identify defining moments that have shaped the academic year. UM is now home to more than 300 student organizations. With the focus of student leaders, many of the organizations have raised thousands of dollars for various charities and local organizations.

“We’ve had a great year – from international week, to FunDay, to our Students of Color Symposium, to our Islam Awareness Week, to Native American Heritage Month, to our Greek Week,” Whitely said. “I think you will agree that there’s a wide diversity of events.”

The Wieser, Waldman and Coller families, all of whom endowed scholarship awards that were presented at the event, were also in attendance to celebrate the students’ achievements.

“We deeply appreciate the generosity of these families who continue to support and recognize the valuable contributions of our students,” Whitely said. “We are grateful that they are able to join us at this annual celebration.”

Awards presented included:

Edward T. Foote II Award for Excellence in Student Leadership

Divya Bhansali

Vice President’s Award for Service 

Rhea Manohar

Destiny James

Faith Boone

Obianeze Okolo

Magaly Santos Llaca Endowed Memorial Scholarship - $10,000

Madeline Valverde

Ann S. Waldman Endowed Scholarship - $10,000

Ajirioghene Uzere

Sherwood Weiser Memorial Fund for Student Community Service - $2,000

Amanda Perez

Derek Auguste

Mizelle Hornilla

Emma Lam

Vivian Berger Giller Impact Award - $3,000

Talula Thibault

Robert Bates Cole Award for Volunteer Leadership - $2,000

Ethan Cheng

Gerald J. Pierri ’65 Read and Lead Award for Excellence in Academics and Intramural Sports Leadership Award - $1,000

Jordan Austin

UM Civic Scholar

Sara Soto

Newman Civic Fellows Award

Shravya Jasti

Iron Arrow Honor Society Sophomore Leadership Award

Giselle de la Rua

Graduate Award for Excellence in Student Leadership

Fahd Qadir, Ph.D. Candidate at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine and Diabetes Research Institute 

Excellence in Civic Engagement Award

Susan Prather, assistant professor of clinical, School of Nursing and Health Studies

Claire Oueslati-Porter, senior lecturer, College of Arts and Sciences