‘Canes Mean Business

‘Canes Mean Business

By Kendra Parks

‘Canes Mean Business

By Kendra Parks
Celebrating UM Hurricane Football players as Miami Business School students.

In particular, the Business School wants to congratulate no fewer than 28 business school majors out of a squad of 106 — the highest percentage of business school majors of any Top Ten football program in the nation. As a Miami Business School graduate himself, head coach Mark Richt is a big believer in the power of the student-athlete at the University of Miami. The importance he places on equal focus of education and athletics is very evident in his players.

Graduating senior and nationally recognized wide receiver, Braxton Berrios, leaves the U this fall with a double major in Finance and Entrepreneurship, graduating Summa Cum Laude with a 3.961 GPA. Berrios made the Dean’s List every semester of his college career, as well as the President’s List three times, and the Provost’s List seven times.

Among his many accolades, Berrios also earned the 2017 first-team CoSIDA Academic All-America Football honors, which is chosen by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). He is the recipient of the 2017 Tatum Award, recognizing the ACC’s top scholar-athlete, and was also one of 13 Campbell Award Finalists, which recognizes the top student-athlete nationwide, widely considered the “Academic Heisman” in college football. He was named the 2015-2016 Miami Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and in 2016, was a recipient of the Mariutto Family Scholar-Athlete Award.

We are proud to recognize the following UM Hurricane Football players as Miami Business School students as well:

  • Marco Baeza
  • Braxton Berrios
  • Randy Patrick Bethel
  • Robert James Burns
  • Thomas Burns
  • Lawrence Cager
  • Calvin Carrie
  • Amari Carter
  • Zach Dykstra
  • Zachary Lawrence Feagles
  • Daniel Freeman Ferguson-McAllister
  • Ryan Fines
  • Jonathan Neo Darnell Garvin
  • Corey Gaynor
  • Cory Mac Giordano
  • James Patrick Gordinier
  • Travis Homer
  • Hayden Mahoney
  • Malik Jamaal Mayweather
  • Bar Milo
  • Jacob Hector Munoz
  • Evidence Njoku
  • Brian Joseph Polendey
  • Shaquille D. Quarterman
  • Evan Alexander Shirreffs
  • Theodore David Stavetski
  • Dewayne Neron Washington
  • William Cade Weldon