Recognizing the achievements of student organizations

Recognizing the achievements of student organizations

Illustration by Chantal Chalita
By Nailah Edmead

Illustration by Chantal Chalita

Recognizing the achievements of student organizations

By Nailah Edmead
The Committee on Student Organizations recognized the accomplishments of student leaders and student organizations at its annual Student Organization Achievement and Recognition awards ceremony.

The annual Student Organization Achievement and Recognition (SOAR) awards marked the end of another successful year for student organizations and their leaders. The ceremony, live-streamed through Vimeo, offered numerous awards in three categories: initiative, organizational, and individual work.

Despite in-person COVID-19 restrictions, the Committee on Student Organizations (COSO) was determined to showcase the work of organizations and leaders this year.

“I thought COSO did a fantastic job with the virtual ceremony. Like everything else this year, it wasn’t what we are used to – but it was still special to be able to reflect on the year and recognize some of our fantastic groups and students,” said Joshua Brandfon, advisor to COSO and senior director of Student Activities and Student Organizations and of Student Center Complex programs.

The diverse group of winners reflected the broad range of leadership and service initiatives that exist on campus. Nominated by their fellow peers, this year's winners demonstrated exemplary involvement and demonstrated exceptional creativity and resiliency in the face of the pandemic.

Below is a list of this year's award winners:

Initiative and Organizational Awards

  • Intercultural Awareness: Asian American Students Association
  • Multifaith and Spirituality: University of Miami Hillel
  • Collaborative Program of the Year: Gandhi Day
  • Program of the Year: Homecoming Executive Committee
  • Academic Programming Initiative: Above the Bar
  • Community Outreach and Social Change: Period@UMiami
  • Organization of the Year: Counsel of International Students and Organizations (COISO)
  • New Event or Initiative Award: Indian Students Association
  • Techy Award: UPup
  • Spirit Award: Category 5
  • Creativity and Innovation Award: Student Activity Fee Allocation Committee (SAFAC)

Individual Awards

  • The David Ling Unsung Hero Award: Saloni Rafadia
  • First-Year Leadership Award: Paige-Tatum Hawthorne
  • Student Leader of the Year: Landon Coles
  • President of the Year: Alexander Veraat
  • Advisor of the Year: Kelly Hui
  • Senior Legacy Award: Michael Pinard
  • Social Justice Advocate of the Year: Bao Duong