Linda Neider Elected UM Faculty Senate Chair

April 25, 2019

By Robert Wagenseil

Linda L. Neider, Department Chair and Professor of Management, was just elected as Chair of the Faculty Senate for University of Miami. She is only the second Chair from the Miami Business School since the position was initiated in 1962.

“It’s an honor to serve the faculty in the role of Senate Chair, and I’m delighted to be part of the first all-woman Senate Officer team with JoNel Newman and Helen Bramlett,” said Neider. “We look forward to working collaboratively together with our Senate colleagues, the administration, and the Board of Trustees as we face the challenges ahead.”

Neider is a tenured Professor of Management with a secondary appointment as Professor in the Department of Health Sector Management and Policy in the University of Miami Business School.  She currently serves as the Chairman of the Department of Management, Director of the MS Program in Leadership, and the First Vice Chair of the University of Miami’s Faculty Senate, the latter of which she has been elected to by the faculty at the university for the past four years. 

The Faculty Senate is the vehicle by which the Faculty is authorized to share in planning and governance of the university. Through its committees and as a deliberative and legislative body, the Senate plays an important role in dealing with academic policies, proposals for developing new programs and degree approvals, compensation and the annual budgets, reviews of chairs and deans, and countless other matters of collegial concern and interest.

Senate meetings are held monthly during the academic year. Senators are elected from each school for three year terms and Senate officers are elected annually.

Dr. Neider has a long history as a distinguished academic leader, having served as Vice Dean for Internal University Relations, Global/Cross-Disciplinary Initiatives and Undergraduate Programs; Vice Dean for Undergraduate Business Programs; past Chairman of the Management Department; Vice Dean for Faculty Affairs in the School of Business Administration; Co-Director (and co-creator) of the Masters in Technology Management; and Director of the Ph.D. program in Industrial/Organizational Psychology.

She has received more than two dozen outstanding teaching awards, including the University of Miami Excellence in Teaching Award, for her Organizational Behavior and Human (Capital) Resource classes in both graduate and undergraduate programs.  Her most recent Outstanding Teaching Awards were awarded by the 2017 MS in Leadership graduating class, the 2015 Executive MBA Class in Health Sector Management and Policy, and the 2014 Executive MBA class in Health Sector Management and Policy.  In 2017, she was also the recipient of the Miami Business School Outstanding Faculty Service Award.

Back to top