Dr. Henri Ford, dean and chief academic officer of the Miller School of Medicine, has been elected to the prestigious National Academy of Medicine—one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine that recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievements and commitment to service. Dr. Omaida Velazquez, professor and chair of the DeWitt Daughtry Family Department of Surgery, also has been elected to the academy.

Faculty Honors

Five-year grant funds study on sleep apnea treatment for Black patients

“This new award ensures that Black patients with sleep apnea benefit fully from the advances made in the field of sleep medicine regarding improvement in overall physical health and quality of life,” said Girardin Jean-Louis, director of the Center for Translational Sleep and Circadian Sciences and a professor at the Miller School of Medicine. He also is the co-principal investigator for the $3.8 million study funded by the National Institute on Aging.

Faculty Honors

Piquero tapped by Biden administration to head Bureau of Justice Statistics

Alex Piquero, a noted criminologist and chair of the Department of Sociology and Criminology, has been named director of the Bureau of Justice Statistics, part of the Department of Justice.


Faculty Honors

NIH renews funding for Center for AIDS Research

A part of the Miller School of Medicine, the Center for AIDS Research has received more than $7 million from the National Institutes of Health for another five-year cycle through 2027. “This renewal allows us another chance to make a difference, especially in an area with such a large racial disparity like Miami,” said Dr. Savita Pahwa, professor of microbiology and immunology, who directs the center, along with co-director Mario Stevenson, professor of medicine.