UM Welcomes Class of 2020 Stamps Scholars

By UM News

UM Welcomes Class of 2020 Stamps Scholars

By UM News
UM students awarded prestigious Stamps Scholarships

The University of Miami welcomes nine new Stamps Scholars from across the country for the 2016-2017 academic year. Stamps Scholars are chosen for their strong leadership potential, academic merit, outstanding talent, and exceptional character. The Stamps Family Charitable Foundation supports promising students who are eager to make their contributions to the world and have the work ethic to make their dreams a reality. The University’s most prestigious undergraduate merit awards, Stamps Scholarships are funded by the generosity of Penny and Roe Stamps through the Stamps Family Charitable Foundation and UM. 

“Stamps Scholars have the opportunity to engage in extraordinary educational experiences at the University of Miami and around the world,” said UM President Julio Frenk. “We are grateful to Penny and Roe Stamps for their generous support of these future leaders.”

The Stamps Scholarship covers all expenses for four years of undergraduate study and provides additional funds to support enrichment opportunities. Other benefits of the Stamps Scholarship include: participation in a national day of service; access to a growing network of scholars and alumni; and opportunities to attend biennial conventions, where Scholars are able to network with one another and learn from recognized leaders.

Four incoming freshmen have been selected as Stamps Scholars across a range of disciplines at the University of Miami. These scholars include: Joshua Kleinman, Naperville, Ill., international studies; Alanna Muldowney, Ormond Beach, Fla., electrical engineering; Ezra Remer, New Orleans, La., motion pictures; and Rebecca Wagner, Menomonee Falls, Wis., marine science and computer science.

“I am forever grateful for the generosity of the Stamps family for giving me a life-changing opportunity to pursue my dreams and attend the University of Miami. I am so very excited to become a member of the Stamps Scholars community and to connect with other passionate, like minded students,” said Muldowney.

Five incoming freshmen have been selected as Stamps Scholars at the University of Miami’s Phillip and Patricia Frost School of Music. These talented students benefit from a unique transformative academic and musical experience, and represent the Frost School when they perform at prestigious venues.

The incoming Frost School of Music Stamps Scholars are Logan Butler, Glen Saint Mary, Fla.; Cameron Daly, Albany, Ca.; Thomas Graf, Succasunna, N.J.; Peter McFarland, Yorktown, Ind.; and Cameron Zhen, Coral Springs, Fla.

As instrumental performance majors, the freshmen scholars will make up the Stamps Brass Quintet. The Stamps Distinguished Ensembles also include the Stamps String Quartet, the Stamps Woodwind Quintet and the Stamps Jazz Quintet.

Daly, a Stamps Scholar in the Stamps Brass Quintet, said “the opportunities this scholarship affords me—extra time with professors, more performance opportunities, travel, exposure to a quintessential style of music—are exciting both personally and academically. Music means everything to me, so being able to study it at a high level in a school as prestigious and innovative as Frost is really amazing.”

“The University of Miami appreciates the generosity and commitment to higher education by Penny and Roe Stamps,” said Thomas J. LeBlanc, UM Executive Vice President and Provost. “The Stamps Scholars program provides UM with the ability to attract some of the most extraordinary students in the country and empowers them to realize their highest aspirations.”

“We're very excited about this new class of Stamps Scholars,” said Roe Stamps, founder and chairman of the Stamps Foundation. “A hearty congratulations to the University of Miami for selecting and attracting such a wonderful group of students.”

Penny and Roe Stamps served as campaign vice chairs for Momentum2: The Breakthrough Campaign for the University of Miami. Roe is a member of UM’s Board of Trustees and the Visiting Committee at the Frost School of Music, and also recently served on the Presidential Search Committee.