Academics People and Community

Siblings awarded prestigious Stamps Scholarship

The University of Miami recently welcomed Stamps Scholars to the Coral Gables Campus for the 2023–24 academic year, including Hannah and Logan Beatty—the first siblings in the University’s history to be awarded the top merit scholarship.
Stamps Scholars
Logan and Hannah Beatty are the first siblings at the University of Miami to receive the distinguished Stamps Scholars merit scholarship. Photo: Matthew Rembold/University of Miami

When Logan Beatty was a sophomore at the University of Miami, he received an email asking him to apply to the Stamps Scholars Program, the University’s most prestigious merit award. He initially thought it was spam—it seemed too good to be true.

But after some research, he applied, interviewed, and was accepted into the program.

Fast forward two years and his sister, Hannah, is following in his footsteps. An incoming first-year student, Hannah is an aspiring software engineer and a newly minted Stamps Scholar. They are the first siblings to receive the Stamps Scholarship in the University of Miami’s history.

Funded by the generosity of E. Roe Stamps and his late wife Penny, the Stamps Scholars Program provides merit scholarships to an elite cadre of students, covering the full cost of attendance for four years of undergraduate study. The scholarship also includes support for study abroad, undergraduate research, unpaid internships, and other enrichment opportunities.

“Being a Stamps Scholar has really afforded me the opportunity to make my education my own rather than being limited by financial means or other factors,” Logan said. “It has allowed me to reach for opportunities that I wouldn’t have otherwise had the ability to take part in.”

A senior biomedical engineering major, Logan used part of his enrichment fund to intern in Barcelona, Spain, with the Josep Carreras Leukaemia Research Institute, where he prepared samples for strategic mass spectrometry to determine their protein content.

He is currently a student researcher at the Diabetes Research Institute Foundation in Miami and will use the rest of the enrichment fund to attend conferences to present his findings.

According to Logan, he chose the University of Miami because it felt like “a happy place to be.” Already, he has shared some of his favorite places on campus with Hannah to show her a little piece of what has become his “home.”

Hannah first learned about the scholarship when her brother won the award. The Stamps Scholarship played a big part in her choice to attend the University. For her, a Stamps Scholar “is somebody who strives for excellence and is a part of a community of other people who are also looking to achieve,” she said.

“I really enjoyed my experience at the U and I’m really glad that I’ll get to share that experience with my sister, Hannah,” said Logan. “and I look forward to seeing what she does in the future as a Stamps Scholar.”

Hannah  echoed the sentiment. “It’s really awesome that we both have this opportunity,” she said.

Stamps Scholars

The siblings  were part of the Stamps Scholars Welcome Breakfast, where President Julio Frenk officially greeted a new cohort to the University.

“The Stamps Scholars Program was established to identify very talented and promising young people to make sure that they have access to the top universities in the country,” said Frenk. “We feel very honored and privileged that you chose the University of Miami because college is a life-transforming experience, and we take education very seriously as a means to fulfill whatever dreams you have in life.”

In addition to Hannah, this year’s incoming Stamps Scholars and their areas of interest are Ivy Enyenihi, of Knoxville, Tennessee, computer engineering; Arthur Frayzond, of Keller, Texas, finance; Anastasiia Hadomska, of Searcy, Arkansas, geography and sustainable development, international studies, and psychology; Messiah Majid, of Accra, Ghana, mathematics; Mira Sayegh, of Juno Beach, Florida, biochemistry; and Varun Vasireddy, of Saint Peters, Missouri, neuroscience.